2014 Congressional Awards honor young Missourians

2014 Congressional Awards at the Missouri Capitol

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. - The Congressional Awards is the U.S. Congress' honor for young Americans. Missouri Medalists were honored Saturday, at the State Capitol. More than two dozen young people came to Jefferson City, to receive medals for their volunteer public service, personal development, physical fitness and expedition/exploration.

U.S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer draped bronze, silver and gold medals around the necks of those who earned the award over the last year. Stephanie Johnson of the Boys and Girls Club of the Capital City gave the keynote address. She spoke of the inspiring words she uses to start the day of her own children.

Mike Esser, of Edward Jones, was honored and State Representative Steve Lynch was also on hand for the honors. The event was hosted by ABC 17's Joey Parker. Joey says he felt honored just being among the dedicated and brilliant young Medalists.

The North Region Program Manager of The Congressional Awards, Joyce Kazadi, called the Jefferson City event a proud achievement for everyone involved, especially the Medalists.

Click here to learn more about the Congressional Awards.

Here is a list of the 2014 Medalists:

Bronze Medalists

Kaitylnn Allen
Meghana Bharadwaj
Emily Chiles
Katheryn Elliott
Sidney Fox
Conrad Heath
Olivia Hoijarvi
Matthew Howell
Sierra Hussey
Daniel Kraus
Emily MacKenzie
Drew Shotwell
Carmen Stevens
Edayla Talley
Alexius Thomas
Kristin Walther
Timothy Wenholz

Silver Medalists

Dallas Ernst
Madison Grooms
Niko Hoijavi
John Klaesner
Claire Meriman
Maggie Parker

Gold Medalists

Carolyn Beard
Mary Ann Cahoon
Payal Desai
Holly Laws
Sophia Mauro
Mary Turney
Christie Webb


comments powered by Disqus

ABC 17 News Stormtrack

  • Wednesday, May 24 Evening Weather Video

Top Videos