On Wednesday, Gov. Jay Nixon requested the federal government issue a major disaster declaration for Missouri.

The governor is requesting the federal aid as a result of severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that occurred between May 29 and June 20.

“On May 29, a severe storm system began tracking across much of Missouri, bringing tornadoes and torrential rains that left flooding and extensive damage to homes, businesses and public infrastructure in its wake,” Gov. Nixon said in a statement. “Missourians have been hit with high repair costs as they work to recover, local communities and state agencies have been burdened with excessive response costs, and expenses for repairing destroyed infrastructure will be very high.”

The major disaster declaration is for public assistance in 30 counties in the state, including Callaway, Chariton, Howard, Maries, Miller, Montgomery, Osage and Pettis in Mid-Missouri.

Nixon is also seeking individual assistance for seven counties, including Callaway, Montgomery and Osage counties.

Public assistance allows local government agencies seek assistance for response and recovery expenses, while individual assistance would allow individual residents to seek federal assistance for uninsured losses.