President Obama signs flood disaster declaration

Local lawmakers praise Washington for swift action

President Barack Obama has signed a major disaster declaration for 18 Missouri counties hit hard by last month's floods.
The floods that resulted from nearly two weeks of heavy rain caused widespread damage across the southern tier of the state and left at least three people dead.

Democratic Governor Jay Nixon announced the approval Friday, saying in a news release the damage he had seen across the state was disastrous.

"This strong system of widespread and deadly flooding caused an estimated $18 million in emergency response costs and damage to roads, low water crossings and other infrastructure," Nixon said. "This declaration will help these communities recover and rebuild."
The White House said that federal funding is available to help local governments and nonprofits recover.

The counties that will benefit are Barry, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

On Saturday, Republican Fourth District Representative Vicky Hartzler released this statement:

"I am pleased that President Obama has approved Missouri's request for a major disaster declaration stemming from August's severe storms and flooding that led to the tragic deaths of a mother and child in Pulaski County and damaged or destroyed many homes and businesses in Missouri's Fourth District and elsewhere in our state. This declaration triggers the release of federal funds to help communities recover and individuals start putting their lives back together. I thank my fellow Members of Missouri's Congressional delegation for signing onto the request letter I sent to the President."

Federal funding is also available for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

comments powered by Disqus

ABC 17 News Stormtrack

  • Thursday, May 25 Afternoon Weather

Top Videos