Senate committee approves UM curator picks

Full Senate to vote Thursday

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. - The Senate Committee on Gubernatorial Appointments voted unanimously Wednesday Gov. Eric Greitens' picks for the University of Missouri Board of Curators to recommend to the full Senate.

Jeff Layman, Jamie Farmer and Darryl Chatman were selected by the governor in February and are scheduled to be considered by the full Senate Thursday.

"The university needs some folks on there who bring a fresh look," said state Sen. Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City. "They should represent several different industries from across the state to help get the university back on track."

The appointments committee is made up of Senate leadership of both major parties.

The committee also approved two candidates for the Missouri State University Board of Governors and James Bean as the Missouri State Fire Marshal. 

comments powered by Disqus

ABC 17 News Stormtrack

  • Monday August 13 Evening Weather Video

Top Videos