Four Mizzou wrestlers advance to third round of NCAA Championships

CLEVELAND - Four Mizzou wrestlers will compete in the third round during quarterfinals of the NCAA Championships on Friday after each earning a pair of victories.

Former Tolton grappler Jaydin Eierman, Grant Leeth, Daniel Lewis and Willie Miklus each punched their tickets to the third round.

The Tigers are sixth currently in the team standings.

Eierman won his first match off an 11-6 decision before taking just 39 seconds to win by a first-round fall in his next match.

After battling through serious injuries in recent years, Grant Leeth won by decision in both his matches including a win in overtime off a sudden-death takedown.

Daniel Lewis won by fall in his first-round match while Willie Miklus won off a pair of decisions.

The big upset of the day was (2) Joey Lavallee going down by decision in the first round. He battled back in wrestle backs with a first-round fall victory. John Erneste, Connor Flynn and Canten Marriott all lost in the first round as well, but won during wrestle backs to stay alive.

Barlow McGhee lost both of his matches ending his Mizzou career with one SEC championship and three NCAA tournament appearances.

The Tigers will begin the third session at 11 a.m. on Friday.

First session results
No. 8 Ethan Lizak (MINN) major dec. Barlow McGhee (MIZ): 11-0
Tariq Wilson (NCST) dec. No. 5 John Erneste (MIZ): 8-3
No. 2 Jaydin Eierman (MIZ) dec. (MIZ) Austin Headlee (UNC): 11-6
No. 3 Grant Leeth (MIZ) dec. Steve Bleise (MINN): 11-7
Kennedy Monday (UNC) dec. No. 2 Joey Lavallee (MIZ): 8-6
No. 14 Branson Ashworth (WYO) dec. Connor Flynn (MIZ): 5-2
No. 3 Daniel Lewis (MIZ) fall Dean Sherry (RID): 1:02
Mitchell Bowman (IOWA) major dec. No. 15 Canten Marriott (MIZ): 10-2
No. 6 Willie Miklus (MIZ) dec. Jacob Holschlag (UNI): 7-3


Second session results

Consolation Second Round: No. 5 John Erneste (MIZ) vs. No. 11 Dom Forys (PITT)

Quarterfinals: No. 2 Jaydin Eierman (MIZ) vs. No. 7 Brock Zacherl (CLAR)
Quarterfinals: No. 3 Grant Leeth (MIZ) vs. No. 11 Matthew Kolodizik (PRIN)
Consolation Second Round: No. 2 Joey Lavallee (MIZ) vs. Taleb Rahmani (PITT)
Consolation Second Round: Connor Flynn (MIZ) vs. No. 13 Te'shan Campbell (OHST)
Quarterfinals: No. 3 Daniel Lewis (MIZ) vs. No. 6 Bo Jordan (OHST)
Consolation Second Round: No. 15 Canten Marriott (MIZ) vs. No. 16 Jordan Ellingwood (CMU)
Quarterfinals: No. 6 Willie Miklus (MIZ) vs. No. 3 Jared Haught (VT)



comments powered by Disqus

ABC 17 News Stormtrack

  • Monday July 16 Evening Weather Video

Top Videos